Jam Sesh: Short Form Series Concept, Financing, and Development

Presented with the participation of the Independent Production Fund


Every song tells a story, and music and image are often harmoniously integrated on screen to evoke emotion. Join this quartet of creators from two IPF funded short-form series, Topline and Less than Kosher, for a candid look into their short form budgets, development, and creative process. Learn how these series have chosen to prioritize and centre their stories around music.

Thursday, April 7, 2022
1:30 PM - 2:30 PM (EDT)
Session Day
Cyrena Fiel
Actor / Musician

Cyrena Fiel is a singer, songwriter, and actor from Toronto. She is currently enrolled at Etobicoke School of the Arts where she majors as a Music Theatre student. In 2019, she made her Toronto Fringe Festival Debut as Carmela in Drama 101, and soon after, began her transition from musical theatre to the film industry. She currently stars in the new CBC Gem series, Topline, directed by Romeo Candido, as the lead character, Tala. Cyrena as well wrote and released her first, self-titled EP to streaming platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music just last year.


Michael Goldlist is an actor, writer and producer from Toronto. He has written and produced three digital series - including The Ninth on CBC Gem and the upcoming Less Than Kosher. He created numerous award-winning music videos, dozens of commercials and one Heritage Minute.

Romeo Candido
Actor / Screenwriter / Musician / Executive Producer

Shaina Silver-Baird is an actor, musician, creator and producer from Toronto/Tkaronto. She is the co-creator/writer, co-executive producer and star of upcoming digital series Less Than Kosher (Filmcoop Inc.). In July 2022, she will resume touring as Chaya/Violinist in the award-winning, international sensation Old Stock: A Refugee Love Story with 2b Theatre (6 Drama Desk nominations). Shaina has been nominated for a MyTheatre Award for Outstanding Performance and won a Dora Award for Best Ensemble. Shaina is also the lead singer/songwriter for electro-pop band Ghost Caravan.

Independent Production Fund